A List of Universities in South Africa For International Students

South Africa has twenty-six (26) public universities across its nine (9) provinces. Each of the nine (9) provinces (Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape, and Western Cape) has at least one public university. This article presents a list of accredited universities in South Africa for international students. As a Nigerian seeking to study further in South Africa, you can have a look at some of these top-rated universities in South Africa, and select one that meets your budget and needs. Meanwhile, I have created a list of tertiary schools in Johannesburg here, should in case you are considering studying in the City of Johannesburg.

Moreover, if you are still in the process of applying for a study visa from Nigeria, take a look at this guide. It will give you practical ideas on how to find schools, submit your application for admissions and also actionable tips for visa application and options for buying a cheap flight ticket to South Africa.

South African Universities’ Websites & Location

The table below shows twenty-six (26) public universities in South Africa. These are some of the universities in South Africa for international students which Nigerians can send their applications to. Their websites and the province in which they are situated have also been listed.

University in South Africa Website Province
Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) www.cput.ac.za Western Cape
Central University of Technology (CUT) www.cut.ac.za Free State
Durban University of Technology (DUT) www.dut.ac.za KwaZulu Natal
Mangosuthu University of Technology (MUT) www.mut.ac.za Kwa-Zulu Natal
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU) www.mandela.ac.za Eastern Cape
North-West University (NWU) www.nwu.ac.za North West
Rhodes University (RU) www.ru.ac.za Eastern Cape
Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) www.smu.ac.za North West
Sol Plaatje Universitywww.spu.ac.za Northern Cape
Tshwane University of Technology www.tut.ac.za Gauteng
University of Cape Town www.uct.ac.zaWestern Cape
University of Fort Hare www.ufh.ac.zaEastern Cape
University of Johannesburg www.uj.ac.za Gauteng
University of KwaZulu-Natal www.ukzn.ac.za KwaZulu Natal
University of Limpopo www.ul.ac.za Limpopo
University of Mpumalanga www.ump.ac.za Mpumalanga
University of Pretoria www.up.ac.za Gauteng
University of South Africa (UNISA) www.unisa.ac.zaGauteng
University of Stellenbosch www.sun.ac.zaWestern Cape
University of the Free State www.ufs.ac.za Free State
University of the Western Cape www.uwc.ac.zaWestern Cape
University of the Witwatersrand www.wits.ac.zaGauteng
University of Venda www.univen.ac.zaLimpopo
University of Zululand www.unizulu.ac.za Kwa-Zulu Natal
Vaal University of Technology www.vut.ac.zaGauteng
Walter Sisulu University www.wsu.ac.zaEastern Cape

Gauteng has 6 public universities

Gauteng has six (6) public universities, making it the province with the most number of public universities in South Africa. Northern Cape and Mpumalanga have the lowest number of public universities, with one (1) public university each.

Province Number of Public Universities
Gauteng Six (6)
Western Cape Four (4)
Kwa-Zulu Natal Four (4)
Eastern Cape Four (4)
Free State Two (2)
North West Two (2)
Limpopo Two (2)
Northern Cape One (1)
Mpumalanga One (1)
Lagos to Jozi

Lagostojozi inspires informed travel decisions from Lagos to Johannesburg

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.